dispersing & reflecting light through poetry

NaPoWriMo Day 9

Day 9 [7:51-8:01, 8:35-40, 9:08-9:11 am; 12:50-1:13 am]
For today’s prompt, write a hide out poem. (www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2016-april-pad-challenge-day-9)

My Ultra-Secret, You-Can’t-See-Me,
No-One-Knows-Where-I-Am Hideout

Construction of my hideout
started in my teens
and continues to this day.
I constantly expand or renovate
according to my needs.

I allow no one inside
without expressed permission
to enter.

Its compactness allows
me to transport it to anywhere,
to anytime.
Its openness provides
changing landscapes and horizons.

I put up a roof where ever I need
or leave it down
to gaze at the stars.

I bring it with me to meetings,
the airport, my job,
on first dates, and
into committed relationships.

I can be naughty at night
or benevolent and charitable
in my hideout
and nobody knows
but me and my Maker.

I have won wars,
wooed women,
written best-selling novels,
and world-changing poetry–
all within my hideout.

I have taken a few
within its walls,
but so far no one
really likes the way I decorate.

Copyright © 2016 Scott Daniel Massey

Leave a Reply

