dispersing & reflecting light through poetry

With one poem left to be completed for RED (and I’m still playing with it), I’ve been working on getting the manuscript ready for upload to CreateSpace. Two things I’ve been doing: converting blog links to notes in the book and creating my own images to add color.

Converting the links within blog posts is a bit tedious. Fortunately, copying the text from WordPress to my Word document maintained the hyperlink. So merely a bit of copy/paste, addition of subscripts, and a lot of back and forth between pages.

Creating the drawings was a bit fun. I thought about adding photos of red objects within the text, but taking the time to find royalty free images and the possible cost: too much to invest. In actuality, I wasn’t going to use any images whatsoever–let the poems create the color. But in looking at the manuscript page to page, there was just too much white space. So I jumped into Microsoft Paint and drew some red line images. They’re a bit simple and crude, but I think they add just enough color to keep it interesting.

sunrise

Copyright © 2015 Scott Daniel Massey

Leave a Reply

