dispersing & reflecting light through poetry

Colorless

At the moment I do not know what to write. Continue RED. Another ORANGE. Not ready for YELLOW. As it is, I’m almost to the end of RED, but I still have two poems to complete (the sonnet and the finale/summary). I actually haven’t written much of any poetry since I started this blog about writing poetry. On the one hand that’s okay. I’ve written poetry for years and now is the time to get it out there for others to read and hopefully enjoy. But now I have a new pressure. I’ve started something.

I’ve started something that I’ve shown to other people. The whole world. Now I have to complete it. And there’s still GREEN, & BLUE, & INDIGO, & VIOLET, not to mention perhaps BLACK & WHITE and maybe even non-visilble light. The task seems daunting. And unattainable. And a lot of work. Yes, work. In short chunks of time to write. In between the day job, the family, church and life.

Let’s get some kind of take-away from this. Perhaps it’s these colorless moments that make the colors more vibrant, more alive, more desirable. Like white space on a page. Like the margins around a Polaroid snapshot. They’re anticipation, like an empty canvas before the first brushstroke. Like a blank screen before the first keystroke.

Or maybe I just need to shut up, sit down, and write.

Copyright © 2015 Scott Daniel Massey

Leave a Reply

